The Journey Starts – December 2014

I have been teaching since 1995 and am currently the Acting Depute Head Teacher in Lochfield Primary, Paisley, Scotland.

On 5th December I attended Microsoft in London to be presented with my accolade for Microsoft Innovative Educator Expert (MIEE).

WORKPC - FullSizeRender

This was a great day; a fantastic opportunity to network with other MIEEs and share good practice.  We heard about innovative ideas and latest technologies.  We were also promised a Surface 3 Pro, which has since arrived and I’ve fallen in love with it!  (I even sold my iPad!).

IMG_1791

I left London feeling very inspired and a bit overwhelmed.  Where do I start?  So after digesting the information I came up with a few targets for myself.  Here they are:

  1.  Participate in Hour of Code.
  2. Upload my first ever Vlog and commit to 3 Vlogs per month.
  3. Stay connected using Yammer.
  4. Finally get to grips with Twitter and start tweeting.
  5. Use my new Surface 3 Pro in school for Xgames and Kinect.
  6. Start using OneNote in both personal and work life.
  7. Start using the preview of Sway.
  8. Get trained in Glow, Office 365 and Class Notebook Creator.
  9. Meet with the Development Officer for Renfrewshire Council and the other Renfrewshire MIEEs to discuss training opportunities and ways to help take forward technologies in education.
  10. Participate in the MIEE conference calls and other webinars.
  11. Start a blog using WordPress.
  12. Think about possibly doing the Microsoft certification course.

So that’s quite a bit to get on with!

I have created my first vlog and loaded it onto my new YouTube channel.  It is a bit strange talking to a camera and I hate seeing and hearing myself on video.  The younger generation are definitely more natural at vlogging, but maybe I’ll get better at it.

And of course I’ve created my first blog.  Hope someone out there reads it and enjoys!

Leave a Reply

